Review: Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Won’t be reviewing the Bonus tracks/Itunes bonus tracks

The first RAP album we’ve heard from Kanye West since 2007. I’ve waited to see where he was going with this album and it wasn’t what I expected. My first gripe with the album is we’ve heard most of the songs during Good Fridays. If you add the songs that leaked there is only 2 songs that I didn’t hear on this album already. Another thing I hate is when people change a song you’re used to hearing one way and now you have to hear it ANOTHER way.

Too many additions to songs we’ve heard before that isn’t needed (Rick Ross on Devil In A New Dress) on this album. With that being said the additions made to songs like All Of The Lights and Runaway make the songs even better than they were before.  I’ve heard songs during Good Fridays that were better than most of the songs that made the album (Take One For The Team,  The Joy, & Don’t Look Down)

Overall it’s not a bad album but by Kanye West standards it was a let down for me. This is my least favorite RAP album by him by far. Too many songs on it that i just find….ok.

Overall: 3 out of 5

Hit the jump for a track for track walkthrough

1. Dark Fantasy

This dark/ill beat is produced by Rza and No ID. This is a great intro that gets you ready for whats in store with the album. You may have heard a few of the lines on the BET Hip Hop Cypher. A few changes to the song than the original we heard. He has the Nicki Minaj intro on it and a few vocals from Ms. Teyana Taylor.

2. Gorgeous

This beat just sounds like something Raekwon would go in on from the very start and he does just that. Kanye has 2 verses, Raekwon has 1, and Kid Cudi is on hook duties. But with Raekwon’s verse the song is still average to me. I don’t see myself listening to it over the others on the album.

3. Power (Feat. Dwele)

This song had to grow on me originally. I did NOT like this at first but after a few listens I found myself quoting the song and liking it even more. The ending breakdown with Dwele is nicely done. Thats too much power for one man to have.

4. All Of The Lights (Interlude)

It’s just a interlude so obviously no review.

5. All Of The Lights (Feat. Alicia Keys, Charlie Wilson, Elly Jackson, Elton John, Fergie, John Legend, KiD CuDi, Rihanna, Ryan Leslie, The-Dream & Tony Williams)

I liked the snippets of the song featuring Drake and now its changed alot to say the least. It no longer features Drake but it features like 20 other people. It’s still a nice song and the additions make it even better. I still think Drake’s verse should have still been included.

6. Monster (Feat. Rick Ross, Jay-Z, Bon Iver & Nicki Minaj)

One of my least favorite Good Friday tracks. The beat is sub par and everyone’s verses are mediocre. I think its bad when Nicki Minaj has the best verse. I still don’t know why Rick’s verse is so short.

7. So Appalled (Feat. Jay-Z, Pusha T, Cyhi Da Prince, Swizz Beatz, & RZA)

Right after Monster (my least favorite) is my favorite Good Friday song.  This leaked a long time ago with just Kanye’s verse but the extra verses makes the song even better. Swizz Beatz and RZA don’t have verses but only adlibs. I’ll let you decide if thats a good thing or not.

8. Devil In A New Dress (Feat. Rick Ross)

I didn’t understand why Rick Ross was added to the song because I thought it was great how it already was. A few changes to the instrumentation and Rick Ross verse isn’t that bad so it’s tolerable but I don’t think it was needed.

9.  Runaway

The only change here is Kanye has added the vocal samples we heard from the VMA performance. Its done slightly different obviously than the performance (the way it was done on the performance sounded better) but I was hoping he would include. Another song that how to grow on it. Great beat and nice hook.

10. Hell Of A Life

Another song much like Gorgeous that just doesn’t stand out to me. The beat is average to me (it gets doper for the hook) and the hook is average as well. Nothing special about this song. The lyrics could have been better. I don’t see myself listening to it again.

11. Blame Game (Feat. John Legend)

This one kind of reminds of something he would have done on Late Registration. A smooth instrumental with some smooth John Legend vocals is some much needed change for the album here. “You weren’t perfect but you made life worth it. Stick around some real feelings might surface”

12. Lost In The World

Lost in the world sounds like a 808s and Heartbreak reject. Some autotune vocals at the beginning and the heavy percussions he used on most of 808s are all heard on this one. Only difference is hes actually rapping on this one.


Explore posts in the same categories: Chicago, Reviews

2 Comments on “Review: Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    you sound like a true dickeater…this album is hot.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: